This article does not cite any sources. Please help improve this article by adding citations to reliable sources. Unsourced material may be challenged and removed. (December 2009) (Learn how and when to remove this template message)

Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

This article is part of a series on the
politics and government of
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines



Elizabeth II


Frederick Ballantyne

Prime Minister

Ralph Gonsalves


House of Assembly

Speaker: Jomo Sanga Thomas


Recent elections

General: 2001

Political parties

Administrative divisions (parishes)

Foreign relations

Other countries


Politics of Saint Vincent and the Grenadines takes place in the framework of a parliamentary democracy. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines is an independent Commonwealth realm, with Queen Elizabeth II as its head of state, represented by a Governor General, who acts on the advice of the prime minister and the cabinet. The prime minister is the leader of the majority party of the House of Assembly, and the cabinet conducts affairs of state. The Governor-General exercises ceremonial functions, but reserve powers, under the constitution, can be used at the Governor General’s discretion.
The House of Assembly is a unicameral parliament with fifteen elected members and six appointed senators. The governor general appoints senators, four on the advice of the prime minister and two on the advice of the leader of the opposition. The parliamentary term of office is five years, although the prime minister may call elections at any time.
As in other English-speaking Caribbean countries, the judiciary in St. Vincent is rooted in English common law. There are eleven courts in three magisterial districts. The Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court, comprising a high court and a court of appeals, is known in St. Vincent as the St. Vincent and the Grenadines supreme court. The court of last resort is the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council in London. Moves are currently being made to establish a Caribbean Court of Justice and replace the Privy Council as the country’s highest court of appeal.
There is no local government in St. Vincent, and all six parishes are administered by the central government.


1 Political conditions
2 Executive branch
3 Legislative branch
4 Political parties and elections
5 Judicial bra